One of the most heart-warming services we offer is animal adoption; matching families with the pet(s) they will love and care for. We are centrally located and easily accessable from the cities of Canandaigua and Geneva and the towns of Bristol, Canadice, Canandaigua, East Bloomfield, Farmington, Geneva, Gorham, Hopewell, Manchester, Naples, Phelps, Richmond, Seneca, South Bristol, Victor, and West Bloomfield. Of course we welcome individuals from the surrounding areas as well.
Click here if you would like to read some success stories & testimonials from some of our satisfied customers.
Click here if you’re interested in the Companions for Seniors Pet Adoption Program .
Adopting persons are urged to post their success stories on our Facebook Page found here.
- Dogs - $95.00
- Cats - $75.00
Adopters who are age 55 or over adopting a pet three (3)years or older, the adoption fee is reduced to $50.
A state fee of $35.00 is added if the animal is not altered at time of adoption. This fee is returned to the new owner when the animal is fixed and the spay or neuter certificate is returned to the Humane Society within the allotted time frame (The adopter has 1 month after adoption or until the animal is seven months old). All adoptions come standard with Immunization Record and Adoption Care Kit.
New York State Law
New York State law requires puppies, kittens, and baby ferrets be vaccinated for rabies at three months of age. (Free clinic schedule here) As a preventive measure, please keep your animals inside away from rabies exposure for two weeks after vaccination to allow immunity to develop. If you have any questions regarding this contact The Ontario County Public Health at (585) 396-4343 or toll free at 1-800-299-2995.
Every dog at the age of four months should have a valid dog license. Dog licenses can be obtained from your town clerk by providing a valid rabies certificate. The license must be renewed yearly. New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, as shown here, requires that any dog adopted from a shelter must have a license, regardless of age, therefore, the Ontario County Humane Society requires you to license your dog within five days of adoption to comply with the law.